Michael J started his musical career as the lead singer, guitarist, and main songwriter for the Rochester, NY band Exploding Boy in 1987. In their 13 years together the band performed thousands of shows all over the Eastern US and

opened for A Flock Of Seagulls, Joe Walsh, Billy Squier, Cheap Trick, and The Goo Goo Dolls among others.


In 1991, Michael J and Exploding Boy made their national television debut in "YAMAHA'S SOUNDCHECK Rock Music Showcase" in Hollywood, CA ranking in the top five from a field of over 2,500 unsigned bands. The show was hosted by Dweezil Zappa and Holly Robinson-

Peete and judges included Robin Zander of Cheap Trick, the late John Entwistle of The Who, and Randy Jackson of “American Idol" fame.


Michael J and Exploding Boy also appeared as musical guests on "The Jenny Jones Show" in 1998

Shortly before disbanding in August of 1999. 


Michael's song "Every Mistake" earned Exploding Boy the honor of being named one of the "Top 12 Best Unsigned Bands of 1999" according to Billboard and Musician magazines.


In Late 2001, Michael composed the theme song for a sitcom pilot written by Paul Guay who wrote the hit films "Liar, Liar" and "Heartbreakers"


Michael went on to write and record with Stan Lynch, legendary drummer for Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers, producer/songwriter for Don Henley, Bob Dylan, and the late George Harrison among many others. During this time he opened

shows for Howie Day, Angie Aparo, and Art Alexakis of Everclear and also performed and recorded with Ken Block and Andrew Copeland of Sister Hazel.


Michael's songs have been featured in the film "3 Needles" starring Lucy Liu, Chloë Sevigny, and Sandra Oh, and ABC Family's hit television series “Falcon Beach".


Michael's tenth solo-record "Via Maris”, released in 2017 featured Eric

Stock and Jens Funke of Stroke 9 on drums and bass respectively, and Steve Schiltz of Longwave and Hurricane Bells on additional guitar.


His latest solo effort “Aurora” featuring guest appearances by Chris Nix of Jonathan Davis of Korn’s solo band and Luis Espaillat Of Trace Adkins’ band was released in June of 2018. 


Michael continues to write, produce and record music for both himself and other artists. He resides in Nashville, TN and has toured as a sideman with artists Brandon Ray (Sony/ATV), James Otto and Chuck Wicks. He is also the creator and host of the hit Nashville, TN based podcast “Turn It On with Michael J” and has interviewed guests ranging from members of Chicago, Daughtry, Vertical Horizon, Sister Hazel, The Doobie Brothers, The Goo Goo Dolls and The Smashing Pumpkins to renowned bassist Billy Sheehan. 


Michael is currently the guitarist for Canadian Country Artist Aaron Goodvin (Warner Music Canada/Reviver USA). The Canadian Country Music Association Award winner already has three Top 10 hits under his belt as an artist, along with his first #1 in Canada, “You Are.” Aaron also boasts an impressive songwriting track record, with songs recorded by country music stars like Luke Bryan, Jon Pardi, and Cole Swindell, and is currently touring the U.S. promoting the single “Bars & Churches.”  


After appearing as a writer on Luke Bryan’s multi-platinum selling album, Crash My Party, Aaron’s star power continued to rise. His self-titled Warner Music Canada debut featured three Top 10 singles including the smash hit “Lonely Drum.” The track has the honorable distinction of being the only Canadian country single released in the past two years to be certified Platinum. In both 2017 and 2018, Aaron was nominated for CCMA awards, winning the 2018 Songwriter of the Year award for “Lonely Drum.” 

Press Photos

Sample Track

Sample Video